LIVE
Anthropic says Claude helped trace the origin of NIST's mysterious ECDSA seeds16/10/26 · Anthropic|Reflection AI unveils Beam, a 501-billion-parameter open model16/10/26 · Reflection AI|Meta releases Muse Spark Open, a mixture-of-experts model built for local Mac Studio inference15/10/26 · Meta|Meta releases Muse Spark Open, an open-weight multimodal model15/10/26 · Meta|Google DeepMind outlines safety measures behind Gemini 4 Argon13/10/26 · Google DeepMind|Tev-Gym: A Training Recipe to Fix Sparse Rewards in Long-Horizon Agents13/10/26|Google DeepMind references Gemini 4, code-named Argon13/10/26 · Google DeepMind|Google DeepMind unveils Gemini 4 Argon, a robotics-focused variant13/10/26 · Google DeepMind|Character.AI files for Chapter 11 bankruptcy, sells assets to Disney13/10/26 · Character.AI|Study Shows AI Models Can Provably Conceal Arbitrary Capabilities13/10/26|A Goodfire researcher reignites debate over how to understand neural networks19/10/26 · Goodfire|CERN and Mistral AI sign statement of intent for scientific AI partnership19/10/26 · Mistral AI|Anthropic says Claude helped trace the origin of NIST's mysterious ECDSA seeds16/10/26 · Anthropic|Reflection AI unveils Beam, a 501-billion-parameter open model16/10/26 · Reflection AI|Meta releases Muse Spark Open, a mixture-of-experts model built for local Mac Studio inference15/10/26 · Meta|Meta releases Muse Spark Open, an open-weight multimodal model15/10/26 · Meta|Google DeepMind outlines safety measures behind Gemini 4 Argon13/10/26 · Google DeepMind|Tev-Gym: A Training Recipe to Fix Sparse Rewards in Long-Horizon Agents13/10/26|Google DeepMind references Gemini 4, code-named Argon13/10/26 · Google DeepMind|Google DeepMind unveils Gemini 4 Argon, a robotics-focused variant13/10/26 · Google DeepMind|Character.AI files for Chapter 11 bankruptcy, sells assets to Disney13/10/26 · Character.AI|Study Shows AI Models Can Provably Conceal Arbitrary Capabilities13/10/26|A Goodfire researcher reignites debate over how to understand neural networks19/10/26 · Goodfire|CERN and Mistral AI sign statement of intent for scientific AI partnership19/10/26 · Mistral AI|
🇨🇳 China🎬 Video generationReleased February 2026

Seedance 2.0

ByteDance
Verdict

A versatile model, balanced across most use cases.

Overview

Seedance 2.0 is ByteDance's video generation model, released February 10, 2026, and it has held the #1 spot on the Artificial Analysis Video Arena for both text-to-video and image-to-video since launch, ahead of Google Veo 3.1 and Kling 3.0 — at a significantly lower cost. It's the same model powering Dreamina, Jimeng, Doubao and CapCut under different brands. Its real differentiator is multimodal input: up to 9 images, 3 videos and 3 audio files as references in a single generation, addressable directly in the prompt (@Image1, @Video1...). You can replicate choreography from a reference video, lock a character or product across the whole clip, and get natively synchronized audio with no post-production. Clips run 4 to 15 seconds, up to 1080p (a 4K upgrade was announced in June 2026), with multi-shot editing in a single pass. Access: global API via fal.ai since April 9, 2026 ($0.30/s at 720p standard, $0.24/s fast tier), consumer interface via Dreamina (~$18/month, free tier of 225 tokens/day). Two caveats: the model is not available in the United States, and it faces cease-and-desist letters from Disney and Paramount over IP infringement — a legal risk to factor in for commercial use. Its successor Seedance 2.5 (30-second clips, 50 references) was announced June 23 and lands in July 2026.

Skill profile

Not disclosed

Three independent measures

What people prefer, what the model can do, what the market uses. Each source has its biases and none is enough on its own: we show them side by side, never blended.

Preference
Which answer do people prefer, blind?
Not measured yet
Sensitive to answer style and length.
Capability
What can the model do on measured tasks?
1085Elo
Artificial Analysis video arena, blind votes.
Adoption
What does the market actually use?
Not measured yet
Source: OpenRouter (openrouter.ai/rankings). CC BY 4.0
OpenRouter traffic only: measures adoption, not quality, and misses direct use of vendor APIs.

Strengths

  • Has a free tier

Limitations

  • No documented EU residency

Who is it for

A good fit if…
    Skip it if…
    • you handle sensitive data with no EU option

    Ideal use cases

    • Ads and short-form social content
    • Cinematic pre-visualization (animated storyboards)
    • Product videos with brand consistency via references

    Access & availability

    Free tier availableConsumer subscription (~17€/mo)

    Key specifications

    Context
    4K
    Input price
    17€/mo
    Output price
    —
    Speed
    —
    Price verified Jul 2, 2026·Official source ↗Benchmarks verified Jul 2, 2026·Official source ↗

    What it costs per month

    Estimate from sourced API prices and a hardware tier for self-hosting. Assumptions are editable.

    Via API
    API pricing not published
    Self-hosted
    Closed weights: no self-hosting

    Assumptions: 36-month amortisation, 0.25 €/kWh, 22 days/month, 1 $ = 0.92 €. Excludes labour, software licences, redundancy.

    nAIvigate Trust Index

    ≈ 17/100

    What the vendor offers and documents for professional use in Europe. An undocumented criterion counts as zero and stays visible: the score rises when the vendor publishes, not when we assume.

    10/20 criteria documented · 50 % · provisional: 50 % documented criteria or fewer

    Data0
    2/5 · 30 %
    Sovereignty0
    3/3 · 20 %
    Transparency25
    3/4 · 15 %
    Enterprise0
    0/6 · 20 %
    Licence85
    2/2 · 15 %
    See the criteria▾
    Data
    EU data residency
    No transfer outside EU
    No training on your datanot documented
    Configurable retentionnot documented
    Zero Data Retentionnot documented
    Sovereignty
    Self-hostable (open weights)
    EU hosting offered
    European vendorcountry: CN
    Transparency
    Published licence (URL)
    Public, sourced pricing
    Published compliance commitments
    Subprocessor list publishednot documented
    Enterprise
    DPA availablenot documented
    SSO / SAMLnot documented
    SCIM provisioningnot documented
    Audit logsnot documented
    SOC 2 / ISO 27001not documented
    Vendor private endpointnot documented
    Licence
    Commercial use allowed
    Licence typeproprietary70
    Full ranking and methodology

    Trust Index badge

    Show this score in your docs, README or security page. It updates automatically.

    nAIvigate Trust Index · Seedance 2.0
    [![nAIvigate Trust Index · Seedance 2.0](https://naivigate.com/badge/seedance-2-0.svg?lang=en)](https://naivigate.com/en/model/seedance-2-0)

    Data & compliance

    What we know, line by line, with source and date. These lines feed the Data and Enterprise families of the Trust Index above. GDPR compliance depends on your processing, not on the model alone.

    EU data residencyNo
    Data processing agreement (DPA)Not documented
    Transfer outside the EUYes
    Training on your dataNot documented
    Configurable retentionNot documented
    Zero Data RetentionNot documented
    Self-hostableNo
    Declared hostingCN/SG
    Derived from declared hosting, not verified at source.Need an analysis in your context? Shadow AI Sentinel

    Quality of this card’s data

    30/100

    This score measures the quality of the data on this card: price, context, Elo, licence, documented, sourced and fresh. It measures neither the model nor its compliance: for that, see the Trust Index above.

    3/6 documented · 0/6 primary sources

    API pricingmissing
    Context windownAIvigate assessment
    Arena Elomissing
    Benchmarks (MMLU, GPQA, SWE-bench…)missing
    LicencenAIvigate assessment
    Data & compliancederived from declared hostingderived
    Advanced data · for experts
    Architecture, modalities, detailed cost, full benchmarks
    ▾
    Architecture
    —
    Size
    —
    Cutoff date
    —
    Inputs
    text, image, video, audio
    Outputs
    video, audio
    License
    proprietary
    Hosting
    CN/SG
    Hallucination score
    —
    Estimated cost (API)
    Typical exchange (~3k in / 1k out)
    Not disclosed
    1M in + 1M out
    Not disclosed
    All benchmarks
    Arena Elo—
    MMLU—
    GPQA—
    HumanEval—
    SWE-Bench—
    MATH—

    Similar models